Postcard Cafe

Weekends are meant for relaxing, going out and spending time with your loved ones which is exactly what my last weekend was all about. It is quite sad that weekends have to end on Sundays, but alas no better way than to end it on a high note.

I found myself doing the clichéd Sunday drive. My boyfriend and I took a scenic drive to Stellenbosch, through the beautiful Jonkershoek Valley and found ourselves in a piece of heaven called Stark-Condé Wines. I have previously seen images of Stark-Conde and their Postcard Cafe but they definitely do not do justice to the majestic beauty that is Stark-Conde.

Once we parked the car, I took a moment taking in my surroundings. I was overwhelmed by a feeling of gratitude that I am blessed to stay in such a beautiful city.  We were surrounded by the greenest grass, mountains, trees… mother nature at its best.

Postcard Cafe truly has the ideal location within this piece of heaven. The cafe has a relaxed atmosphere.  There are both indoor and outdoor seating. I strongly recommend you sit outside to appreciate the breathtaking views. Once showed to our seats I went camera happy snapping away at the magnificent scenery. I was looking at a green stretch of grass, a bridge crossing over a dam with picture perfect mountains surrounding us.

view

In true form it was that time of the day when tea was in order, but browsing through the menu, Postcard Cafe’s selection of homemade drinks caught my attention. I opted for the homemade lemonade which was very refreshing. I couldn’t make a decision as to what dessert I wanted. My options were scones, baked cheesecake, honey & almond tart to name a few. My boyfriend went for the malva pudding which is always a winner. I was impressed with the malva puddings presentation in a shape of a flower. I went for the cheesecake as it was the waitress recommendation. When it comes to food I prefer making my own decisions but this time I was happy with the cheesecake recommendation. My taste buds were definitely happy as I started eating into the cheesecake. It was a plain baked cheesecake, but delicious enough with no need for a topping.  I found myself really enjoying the crust of the cheesecake, I got so caught up in the flavours that I finished the crust before the actual cheesecake.

Postcard Cafe you are without a doubt one of my best places and I will definitely be back to be mesmerized by your beauty!

20160522_14343120160522_151841cake

Leave a Reply

