Pancake Café

It’s Sunday evening, and the end of the western tradition called Mother’s Day. Up until two years ago I loved this day, all the planning, surprises, food but most of all the company of gold, my mother (may she rest in peace).

It is because of this day I’m reminiscing about a previous Mother’s Day where I took my mum and two aunts to Franshoek.  Last weekend I was in Franshoek with my beloved so the memory is strong. I love the town, its beauty, tranquility and the feeling of being away.  Thinking about Franshoek is reminding me of Pancake Café.

IMG-20160502-WA0011

Pancake Café is perfectly situated in the main street of Franshoek surrounded by the mountains. The café itself shares space with a gift shop.  Inside seating is very limited and looks straight into the kitchen area where everything is prepared and teases you with all the delicious smells. Majority of the seating area is outside with lovely views of the town.

I have been craving pancakes and ordered the caramel with banana pancake. I simply loved the fact that it was served with runny caramel sauce filling my whole plate. Pancake Café thank you for hitting the spot. It was the perfect portion served with what tasted like homemade ice cream.

pancake.jpg

If you find yourself in Franshoek and looking for something sweet or savoury I strongly suggest a visit to Pancake Café.

 

 

Leave a Reply

